jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way!

Posted on Updated on

Hello readers! First and foremost, I hope everyone is in the best of health and enjoying their holidays study break! I certainly am enjoying waking up a little later than usual and having a little more time on my hands. It’s Atiqah here by the way and it is my very first time posting here! Since December is coming to a close real soon, I thought it would be nice to share what I have been up to this month 🙂

Standard Chartered marathon fell on 5th of December. I was at the Padang along with many fellow year ones and seniors, to do rubdown massage for the 42km runners. We were allocated a tentage space with rows of mobile plinths. Two students were allocated to a plinth and we took turns to massage the athletes; for ten minutes per athlete. Tiger Balm sponsored the muscle rub that we applied on the athletes and the bright orange polo t-shirts that we wore.

I have always been awed by how disciplined marathon runners are. I was especially inspired by a lady athlete at our plinth who ran the full marathon within 3 and a half hours! How amazing is that?! The whole experience was certainly an eye-opener for me and I bet for many others as well. It felt great to be doing the rubdown massage for the athletes and it gave me a sense of satisfaction when they expressed their gratitude for the rubdown. It was the simple word of thanks they uttered that really warmed my heart, and it brought me back to why I chose this profession in the first place.

Here’s a photo of my classmates and I after the event!

The year twos who were involved as well 🙂

Earlier this week, on the 20th to 21st of December, I was involved in a Mentorship camp. It was a 2 days and one night camp held in school. The main objective of the camp was to train students to be future orientation group leaders of 2011 SHS freshman students. The students involved in the camp were all year ones, like me, coming from mostly Nursing. The rest were students from Allied Health- Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Diagnostic Radiograhy, Radiation Therapy.

My group consisted of 18 health science students. We played games which incorporated leadership values such as teamwork. One that gave a lasting impression was this game called the Human Ladder. We were given wooden sticks where each would be shared by two people. Each would hold one end and support it against his/her leg, to create a stepping platform for a person to cross a distance of about 3 metres. In order for a team to work, team members must trust one another as everyone is interdependent. Teamwork is when someone depends on you to make it work.

Besides that, we had a tallest tower building competition using recycled materials. Within my group, there were lots of conflicting ideas on how we should go about making the tallest tower that would last. We argued and we debated; each providing reasons why his/hers would be more feasible and rebuttals why his/hers was better compared to someone else’s. It made me realize that in a team, each individual is different and that is what’s special. Individual diversity is inevitable; we are all different and we have our own unique personality. Being diverse would mean that there would be various amazing ideas. It provides a team with several different areas of intelligence and learning, and this makes a team dynamic! These differences add strength and knowledge to a team, and these differences allow a team to see tasks on several different levels. Without individual diversity, we would have been much less productive. What we needed was to manage our conflicting ideas, incorporate the relevant ideas, reach a consensus and achieve our common goal. And so we did 🙂

The Year one Physiotherapy students who were involved in this camp! Besides me, there’s Geraldine, Yilin, Bala and Nathan from PT1002, Farhanah, Haslina and Olivia from PT1004.

This year has been a pretty interesting year for me; full of bittersweet memories. I hope 2010 has been a fulfilling year for everyone. Merry Christmas and have a very happy new year everyone! Let’s treasure what’s left of 2010 and get started on our new year resolutions!

2 thoughts on “jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way!

    atiqah said:
    January 5, 2011 at 1:44 AM

    yayyy thanks ezora!

    Ezora said:
    December 28, 2010 at 6:18 PM

    LIKE !!!

Leave a Reply

