Why Physiotherapy

Posted on Updated on

Since this is the very important week for those anxiously awaiting their A-level results, I have decided to put this post together for those who have yet to discover their true calling.

Exactly one year ago, I was preoccupied with thoughts about my future.
I was torn between two paths :
1. to be a physiotherapist (going to a polytechnic after A levels?!?!)  and
2. to dwell into social sciences (a more accepted path, going to a university after 2 difficult years in JC).

To be honest, the very first thought that crossed my mind was :”WHO GOES TO A POLY AFTER A-LEVELS?”, albeit knowing that an A-level certificate was a pre-requisite for the course. This was also the first question I was faced with when I told my friends and family that I wanted to do physiotherapy and that the ONLY place to do that is in Nanyang Polytechnic. Even until today, one year later, I still get wide-eyed, bewildered stares when I say that I’m doing my course in NYP.

It takes passion and compassion to be a physiotherapist. The long road for aspiring physiotherapists to reach that ultimate goal is not an easy one to embark on. If you’ve really set your heart and soul on this career path, why would you let “social norms” stop you from pursuing your dreams?

Here’s a LINK for those interested in physiotherapy. It has information on career pathways and fields of practice. If you want to what it’s like to be a physiotherapy student, then READ THIS BLOG!

You can then check out the SCHOOL WEBSITE to look at the scholarships available and APPLY! (2011’s intake is approx. 100)

Sure, it’s not the “expected” path to take, but we really don’t have to take the same “tried-and-tested” route as everyone else. I quote Robert Frost:

“Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

 

All the best and hopefully you’d join us on this meaningful journey towards being a physiotherapist!

 

2 thoughts on “Why Physiotherapy

    Qxy said:
    August 10, 2011 at 8:53 PM

    hi I wld like to check what is the min rank pt for this course & is it hard to get in, I mean Is there like interviews and all.

      SPSC responded:
      February 26, 2012 at 12:15 PM

      Hi Carolyn,

      It isn’t hard to get into the course and there isn’t any interviews required. Just submit your application to NYP students admission office and you will be notified soon.

      Regards,
      Kelvin

Leave a Reply

