OUR Pledge!

Posted on Updated on

On 24th May 2011, a batch of our Physiotherapy seniors graudated from the school. It was the end of their 3 years here in NYP, and also the beginning of their working life for some and pursuing of higher education for others. I was there during the ceremony itself, and I must say the moment when they were up on stage, shaking hands with the Director of SHS, receiving their cert, wearing their graduand gown — that must have been one of their proudest moment in their life!

So, CONGRATS to our Physiotherapy Class of 2010/2011, and all the best for all that is to come! 🙂

During the graduation ceremony, the nurses recited their Nursing Pledge with gusto and the first thought that came into my mind was: “What about Physio’s? (And the other Allied Health courses)” So, recently, one of our CardioPulmonary lecturers posted this up on our FB group, and a Year 3 senior also posted the same thing at Musings of a Physio Student not too long ago.

It’s our very own Physiotherapist’s Pledge! Though I think it is more US-based, but I thought it’ll be good to share it here, so that if you’re not a current Physio student & somehow or other happened to chance upon this site, you might be really inspired by the pledge & decide to join us! 🙂

You might wanna save this image & set it as your wallpaper/print out a mini version & carry it along with you all the time! 🙂

Also, for those who’re curious,

This is the Nurses’ Pledge:
In full knowledge of the obligations I am undertaking, I PROMISE to provide a competent standard of care for the sick, regardless of race, religion and status, sparing no effort to alleviate suffering and promote health and to refrain from any action which might endanger life.

I will respect at all times the dignity of the patients under my care, holding in confidence all personal information entrusted to me.

I will maintain my professional knowledge and skill at the highest level and give support and co-operation to all members of the health team.

I will abide by the Singapore Nursing Board Standards of Practice for Nurses and Midwives, and be responsible and accountable at all times for my nursing actions and decisions.

I will do my utmost to honour the Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct of the Singapore Nursing Board. I will uphold the integrity of the professional nurse.

And this is the Hippocratic Oath, taken by medical doctors:
I swear to fulfill, to the best of my ability and judgment, this covenant:

I will respect the hard-won scientific gains of those physicians in whose steps I walk, and gladly share such knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.

I will apply, for the benefit of the sick, all measures [that] are required, avoiding those twin traps of overtreatment and therapeutic nihilism.

I will remember that there is art to medicine as well as science, and that warmth, sympathy, and understanding may outweigh the surgeon’s knife or the chemist’s drug.

I will not be ashamed to say “I know not,” nor will I fail to call in my colleagues when the skills of another are needed for a patient’s recovery.

I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.

I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person’s family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick.

I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.

I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm.

If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.

—Written in 1964 by Louis Lasagna, Academic Dean of the School of Medicine at Tufts University, and used in many medical schools today.

FYI, doctors, nurses, dentists, pharmacists, etc all do have their own pledges as well!

Mid-sem break is coming up really soon and we can soon have a short breather, so ALL THE BEST to Year 1s & 2s with our exams and to Year 3s with their exciting FYP! 😀

Leave a Reply

